Skip to main content

Explore the Isle of Man by Rail

There are 6 Heritage Railways spread across the Isle of Man which can be found on the below Map.

  • Manx Electric Railway
  • Snaefell Mountain Railway 
  • IOM Steam Railway
  • Douglas Bay Horse Tramway
  • Groudle Glen Railway
  • Laxey Mines Railway

4 of which are operated by Isle of Man Government.


The Manx Electric Railway

Travelling to:

Douglas - Onchan - Groudle Glen - Baldrine - Laxey - Dhoon Glen - Glen Mona - Ballajora - Lewaigue - Ramsey

Travelling North from Derby Castle to Ramsey Station the Manx Electric Railway follows the East Coast of the Isle of Man. The railway passes through the scenic Parishes of Lonan and Maughold. The full journey from Derby Castle to Ramsey Station takes 1 hour 15 minutes. 

The Snaefell Mountain Railway

Travelling to:

Laxey - The Bungalow - Snaefell Summit

The journey to the Summit of Snaefell starts at Laxey Station. The line climbs steeply up the valley sides to The Bungalow. From The Bungalow the line continues as it spirals around the sides Snaefell Mountain to the Summit. The full journey from Laxey Station to the Summit takes 30 minutes.

The Isle of Man Steam Railway

Travelling to:

Douglas - Port Soderick - Santon - Ballasalla - Castletown - Colby - Port St Mary - Port Erin

Travelling South from Douglas Station to Port Erin Station The Isle of Man Steam Railway travels through the rolling countryside of Braddan, Santon, Malew, Arbory and Rushen. The full journey from Douglas Railway Station to Port Erin Railway Station takes 1 hour.

The Douglas Bay Horse Tramway

Travelling to:

The Promenades, Douglas

Travelling across Douglas Promenade the tramway curves around Douglas Bay. The full journey from Derby Castle to The Sea Terminal takes 20 minutes.